Mike gave me Zen and the Art of Writing by Ray Bradbury to read. Its very interesting and puts writing in a perspective I hadn’t considered before.

…And what, you ask, does writing do for us? First and foremost, it reminds us we are alive and that it is a gift and a privilege, not a right. We must earn life once it has been awarded to us. Life asks for rewards back because it has favored us with animation (passion? joie de vivre?).

So while our art cannot, as we wish it could, save us from wars, privation, envy, greed, old age, and death, it can revitalize us amidst it all. (It gives us meaning, purpose, and direction..)

Second, writing is survival. Any art, any good work, of course, is that. NOT to write, for many of us, is to die. ( I have made it 60+ years without writing so I am not sure this describes me or not. I thoroughly like and enjoy the creative process, and the challenge, so far. Perhaps, once I give birth to my first creation, a love will grow.)

We must take arms each and every day, perhaps knowing the battle cannot be completely won, but fight we must, even a gentle bout. The smallest effort to win means, at the end of each day, a sort of victory. Remember the pianist who said if he did not practice every day HE would know, if he did not practice for two days the CRITICS would know it, and after three days the AUDIENCES would know it. (Three days without writing and I can feel my brain turning to mush! Writing is a self-defense mechanism for me, keeping the juices flowing, the synapses sparking..)

