Show me somebody who has no doubts, and I will show you an idiot…

Michael Ray King

Question MarkDiscovering Doubt

I’ve come to learn writing often becomes an exercise in ‘discovering doubt.’ Yes, many times I write with confidence, although I recognize over the years, much of my confidence fell misplaced. For instance, I considered, once upon a time, critique groups as massively valuable. Now, I downgrade them to marginally helpful as long as you wait until your first draft leaves your mind for paper or digital scripture. Too often, I discovered, critique groups serve only as ego strokes for amateurs.

Lest I digress on my ‘critique group rant,’ I will move forward. Staring at a writing challenge, sometimes I feel intimidated. For instance, there’s a novel that’s been stirring in my mind and heart for decades and I am lining it out for ‘production.’ I’ve written pieces of it so far, but nothing too major. My intimidation comes from nearly thirty years of thinking of this book…

View original post 679 more words

